SPD Workflow: Changes done to the workflow are not reflected on the site


The solution is to clear your PC’s cache. 

To do so, go to C:\Users\[Username]\ApPData\Local\Microsoft\WebsiteCache and delete everything there.

That’s what I did and it worked like a breeze.

.

.

.

.

If this doesn’t work then you can  try one of the following :

Solution 1:

  • Close SharePoint Designer.
  • Open the workflow settings of the list to which the worklfow is attached.
  • Remove all the previous versions of the workflow instances attached to the list. (Cleanup step)
  • Save the list as a template. NOTE: Select the Include Content checkbox.
  • Delete the list to which the workflow is attached.
  • Create a new list using the saved list template.
  • Open SharePoint Designer.
  • Open the workflow, perform any simple change (e.g. Log To History List) and click Finish.
  • Trigger the workflow -> The changes are refelected correctly.

Solution 2:

  • Close SharePoint Designer.
  • Open the workflow settings of the list to which the worklfow is attached.
  • Remove all the the workflow instances attached to the list,including the current version.
  • Open SharePoint Designer.
  • Create a new workflow on the same list and add any simple condition and any simple action to it.
  • Click Finish, in order to save and publish the new workflow.Note that the new workflow has the files [workflow name].xoml and [workflow name].xoml.rules.
  • Using Notepad, copy the content of the old “xoml” file into the new “xoml” file.
  • Using Notepad, copy the content of the old “xoml.rules”file into the new “xoml.rules” file.
  • Open the new worklfow and quickly go through all the conditions and actions, to make sure that no variables are corrupt. Note: In case you use a Collect Data From Useraction in your workflow, I recommend that you create a new action and remove the old one.
  • Click Finish, in order to save and publish the new workflow.
  • In case the new workflow is saved properly, delete the old workflow in SPD. This can be done by right-clicking the workflow’s name under the Worklfows node, selecting Delete and confriming the deletion when the warning message appears.
  • Finally, trigger the workflow -> The changes are refelected correctly.
Advertisements

4 Responses to SPD Workflow: Changes done to the workflow are not reflected on the site

  1. Liam Hays says:

    O. M. G. Thank you!

  2. M. Ahmed says:

    Hi,

    Thank you for the information, but clear your PC’s cache? Does it mean cache of WFE or client machine?

  3. Bob G. says:

    Thank you VERRRRRRY much!!! This was driving me bannans. You saved me a ton of work!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: