Get Site Icon to properly update in Sharepoint 2010 Web Part Page


I’m working on creating a reusable and extensible web application in SharePoint 2010. I’ve created a master page to apply across all pages in the site. However, whenever I create a web part page and navigate to it, the site icon does not display. Instead of my custom site icon being displayed it shows the default SharePoint icon. I can get around this by placing the icon directly into the master page, but that would require me to create a new master page if I ever wanted to extend this web application.

Googling around a bit I found the following solutions :

  1. Go to the desire page
  2. Click on the “Page” tab at the top
  3. Click on the “Title Bar Properties” at the right (in the ribbon)
  4. In the Image Link section on the right, paste in the image URL
  5. Click OK

The only bad thing about this is, you have to update every Web Part page that you want custom icon image to display

Leave a Reply

